Our mission

Unhealthy time use is likely the most relevant modifiable behavioural and lifestyle risk factor, responsible for more deaths worldwide than, for example, smoking and obesity. Time-use epidemiology is the study of determinants, incidence, distributions, and effects of health-related time-use patterns in populations, and methods for preventing unhealthy time-use patterns and achieving the optimal distribution of time for population health, where good health is considered as complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not only as the absence of disease and frailty.

The aim of the International Network of Time-Use Epidemiologists (INTUE) is to draw together researchers and other public health stakeholders interested in advancing the field of time-use epidemiology. The Network was established as an international forum for experts in epidemiology and related fields to connect, communicate, raise issues, strategize, and strengthen collaborative research on health-related components of time use and ways to promote healthy time use in populations.

Specific objectives of the Network are to:

  • Increase capacity for collaborative research and health promotion in time-use epidemiology;
  • Facilitate transfer of research findings and other information between its members;
  • Support translation of knowledge about health-related components of time use into public health practice;
  • Provide a platform for its members to gain knowledge about research and health-promotion methods specific to the field of time-use epidemiology;
  • Help build partnerships between its members when applying for competitive grants;
  • Expand possibilities for organising meetings, workshops, and conferences on time-use epidemiology;
  • Recognise and honour excellence and outstanding achievements in time-use epidemiology.



The main governing body of the Network is the General Assembly, constituted of all full members of the Network. The General Assembly meets at least once a year, and members can participate in person or by teleconference.

Management of the Network is vested in the Steering Committee elected from the membership. The Steering Committee consists of five officers, including the President, the Secretary, the Treasurer, and two other appointed full members of the Network.

The Constitution of the Network can be downloaded here.

The Network is registered as an incorporated association (reg. ID: A0102619D) in Victoria, Australia.


Current Office

Dorothea Dumuid, PhD, University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia (Treasurer)

Assoc. Professor Scott Duncan, PhD, Auckland University of Technology, Auckland New Zealand

Louise Foley, PhD, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Professor Timothy S. Olds, PhD, University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia (President)

Assoc. Professor Željko Pedišić, PhD, Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia (Secretary)